Welcome to the Jefferson County Historical Society

The Jefferson County Historical Society, founded in 1886, is the primary organization in Jefferson County, New York that collects artifacts, books, and documents that reflect the entire history of the county, including every geographical area and every chronological period. We preserve the history that makes Jefferson County a special place to live, work, and visit. Originally housed in the Flower Memorial Library, today the Society is located in the beautiful 19th century Paddock Mansion.


Featured Events and News

2016 Calendar of Events

June

Thursday, June 9, Whimsical Wonder-Filled Magical Night (painting class, $40), 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. See flyer below

Saturday, June 25, Appraisers Road Show, 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.

Sunday, June 26, Appraisers Road Show, 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.

July

Saturday, July 2, Independence in the Garden, 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.

Saturday, July 9, History in the Garden, 4:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. See flyer below.

Mid-July, Media Through the Ages

Thursday, July 21, Estate Sale Preview, 5:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. See flyer and donation information below.

Friday, July 22, Estate Sale, 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Saturday, July 23, Estate Sale. 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.

August

Thursday, August 4, Media Through the Ages Exhibit Opening

Saturday, August 26, Night of Philanthropy, 5:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.

October

Saturday, October 8, History and Genealogy Fair, 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.

Saturday, October 15, 8th Annual Fashion Show and Luncheon, 11:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.

November

A Month-long Celebration, Valuing our Veterans, with Highlight Event Friday, November 11, 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

December

Friday, December 9, Holiday Reception, 5:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Saturday, December 10, Victorian Faire, 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.



Our Partners

Slack Chemical Co. Purcell Construction Corporation NNY Community Foundation Watertown Saving Bank Watertown Saving Bank
Slack Chemical Co. Purcell Construction Corporation Northern New York
Community Foundation, Inc.
Watertown Saving Bank

Jefferson County, NY City of Watertown, NY Jefferson Lewis Board of Education Services (BOCES) Westtelcom
Jefferson County, NY City of Watertown, NY Jefferson Lewis Board of
Cooperative Educational Services
Hosting by Westelcom